Nicole Safe Heaven Foundation

07/21/2013 09:39

Support Vickie Edwards and her Foundation

This weekend, I was involved in a VERY special event that was close to my heart. In 2007, I lost my sister Carla to a disease called Sarcoidosis. My family and I went through some rough times after she passed away. It will be six years this August since she passed. I recently received a message from  a woman named Vickie Edwards. She said that she was starting a foundation in memory of her daughter who passed away in 2012, and she needed a DJ to entertain at a fundraiser she was hosting. I had been in her shoes. I knew how it felt to lose someone. I wanted to help. I got in contact with her and she told me her story. VIckie's daughter Nicole spent a Sunday afternoon making homemade candy. Afterwards, she wanted to share her creation with family and friends. She got in her car and drove off, nothing unusual about that. On her way back, 15 minutes away from her home, she lost control of her vehicle and had an accident. She was only 18.  Nicole was young, just getting ready to start her life. She had the world in the palm of her hands. She had her sights set on going to  beauty school.  Fast forward to this past weekend.  Vickie, her family, friends and 35 motorcycle enthusiasts took their first  annual Ride for Nicole in support of Vickie's foundation called Nicole Safe Heaven Foundation. I can say with full confidence that this first fundraiser was a complete success!!! Thank you so much for letting me be part of this event. I know that my sister Carla and Vickie's daughter Nicole were looking down on us from Heaven dancing right along with all of us!! The storm that came through right before the fundraiser started was a good thing. The storm was Carla and Nicole's tears of joy. I look forward to working with you again next year and many years to come.  Thanks to EVERYONE involved in this event. God Bless each and everyone one of you for showing your support. :) If you are interested in participating in the next event, or would like to support the Nicole Safe Heaven Foundation, please visit their website here. Here are some pictures from the event.