Shopping for a Cause with DJShawnD, Macy’s and The March of Dimes

09/03/2015 16:26

 

Macy's Shop For A Cause Event A Huge Success!!

The day was filled with glimpses of Dave, the Manager of Macy’s, and staff running around making sure everything was perfect for the March of Dimes event “Shop For A Cause”. The music starts….5..4..3..2..1..All shoppers are welcome to Macy’s today as everyone shops for great sales while helping others at the same time. We spent our time playing the music and greeting the shoppers with a smile and a quick wit!! The event was like a blur because the shoppers were moving so fast donating $5.00 to the March of Dimes by purchasing Shopper’s Passes for a day of amazing savings. We had so much fun. I remember talking with some really amazing people at this event and a few stuck out in my mind. I remember talking to a woman from Carmel, Indiana. She explained to me how she drove down to pick up her dad from Bedford and bring him to the Macy’s sale to find him a new suit. Her dad was retired from the Navy and he told me about his days as a younger man. He said that he loved the 50’s and 60’s songs I was playing and then we shared a hardy laugh. The Navy man and his daughter went upstairs to find him the suit they had come to Macy’s to find. About ten minutes later, his daughter came down the escalator and came over to me and said that I had made their day by speaking with her and her dad. She mentioned to me that he was upstairs paying for his suit and told the Sales Associate that Macy’s had an amazing DJ downstairs!! The woman gave me a big hug and told me thank you for taking time out to talk to her dad. Just when I thought that it couldn’t get any better, another older gentleman named John had been listening to my music from a bench right outside Macy’s mall entrance. He came up to me and told me that I played really great music. I thanked him and he put out his hand with $20.00 in it. He said that he wanted to make a donation to the March of Dimes. I told him to walk over to any Macy’s Sales Associate and make his donation by purchasing a Shopping Pass. Then a miracle happened…. John bought four Shopping Passes and gave them away to four complete strangers then told them to enjoy the sales and to enter themselves into the $500.00 Macy’s gift card giveaway. Thanks to John for his generosity!! The next incredible person that I encountered at Macy’s was an 86-year-old grandmother who put a smile on my face as well as all the shoppers that passed by. I even showed her how to play the music and she became my honorary DJ for the day!!! I asked her if she wanted to come with me later that evening to a fraternity party and help me spin!!! Later that evening, her daughter Sherri texted me and thanked me for making her mom smile!!! I also want to give a great big THANKS to all the parents, principals and students that came out to the Shop For A Cause event. I saw people from St Charles, Summit, Tri North, Jackson Creek, Batchelor, BNL, Bloomington North and South, Edgewood, Owen Valley and IU. Please know that all of the students that came out to Macy’s were model young men and young ladies. Everyone should be very proud of their students for representing their schools so well!! I also want to give a huge THANKS to all the shoppers that came out, Macy’s and Dave and all of his Sales Associates, the March of Dimes and all my faithful followers on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. For all of the latest updates from DJShawnD and Amazing Music DJ, Photography & Video, follow us on all social media. I will see you at your next AMAZING event!!!! Please enjoy the photos from the event: